Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

Nicki’s life….or at least part of it.

on August 25, 2010

So….intro.  Ok.

My name is Nicki and right now I live in Boston.  History tells me this is a temporary situation, as I never end up living in one place for too long, but my current career circumstances seem fairly stable (ish….) so, it seems that Boston is home for the foreseeable future, at least.  Which is fine.  I like it here.  It’s close to where I grew up (sorta) and where my family still lives in New Hampshire, it’s close to where I used to live, in New York.

I’ve spent my life being fairly nomadic. My dad was in the Navy, so we never really settled anywhere until I was in my teens.  Since then, I seem to get itchy feet every few years, and so I move.  Sometimes I move across town, sometimes I move across the country.  Last August I moved about three miles from my old apartment.  Small moves are enough to satisfy my urge to flee, so I’ll stay where I am for now.  This all goes a long way to me saying that my current job is PERFECT for me.

I work at a non-profit organization, like others in this blogging sorority.  My organization does research on the impacts of other NGOs (non-governmental organizations) working in the humanitarian, development and peacebuilding fields.  My job is basically to go around the world and talk to people about what they do, and how they do it.  I get to meet the best people in the world, every place I go.  I’ve been doing this job for just over a year, and I’ve been to Kenya (twice), Norway, Colombia, Sri Lanka, Indonesia, India, Philippines, Cambodia and Thailand.  Not to brag (well, ok. yes, to brag), I have the best job.

Me, in Kenya, petting a Cheetah. Who gets to do that?

So, in a nutshell:  I’m a nomadic, dog-owning, cheetah-petting, NGO worker who lives in Boston.  There is, of course, more to me than that, but this seems like enough for now.

Cheers!

One response to “Nicki’s life….or at least part of it.

  1. Erin says:

    Great photo!!

Leave a Reply

