Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

Christine’s Corner…cheesy but true

on August 26, 2010

Happy Thursday Everybody! I like Thursdays because you can feel the weekend is coming soon. And who doesn’t like that? Just like some of the other ladies on here, this is my first adventure in blogging. Bear with me while I try to cobble together my thoughts and forgive my horrible grammar.

My life right now is in a state of impending transition. Whether I like it or not, it is about to change. For better or worse? I don’t know. I’ll go glass half full and say for the better. We’ll visit the whole story of what’s coming on the horizon another week. For the time being, how about a “My Life Pre-Transition” intro?

I turned 31 this year so I am officially IN my 30s. I live in a suburb of a suburb southwest of Philadelphia, PA. I live with my parents in the house I grew up in. Not the same room though. At least I’ve moved down the hall. I pay some rent to make me feel better about the situation. It was only supposed to be for a couple of years after I moved out of my apartment. Those “couple of years” have turned into more, much to my chagrin. Life, being the crazy thing it is, decided to throw a big wrinkle my way that kept me where I am (again this will have to wait for another week).

I have a BS in Horticulture from Pennsylvania State University. I don’t work in a city, quite the opposite in fact. I work on a 250 acre wholesale nursery in rural southeastern PA. I work in the yard that sells to the local landscapers and garden centers as the assistant manager. I am surrounded by trucks, tractors, skid loaders, and a ton of plants. My office is a small, maybe 20′ x 30′, building with no indoor plumbing. Port O Johns are not that bad when cleaned regularly and hand sanitizer/hand wipes are a god send.  My job is great because I’m not always trapped in the office.  Those beautiful days when people are longingly looking out their windows I’m out wandering around in the sunshine. The opposite is also true. After awhile, rain gear does nothing and you just get wet.

I like to go hiking when I can. I’m a fan of vistas so if I can get to the top of a small mountain it’s a happy day. I emphasize small. Mt. Everest is not in my future. After college, “I taught myself to crochet!”.  Really, that was the title of the book. It’s become a fun hobby and my friends usually get the fruits of my labor. I have other things I dabble in but those are the big two.

As far as Christine’s Corner (and to sum up)? I live in the corner of the state in the corner of the house and I work in the corner of the office (not to be confused with corner office). So the title is apt. I apologize for the cheesy title.  It won’t happen again. Uh, I can’t actually promise that.

2 responses to “Christine’s Corner…cheesy but true

  1. Erin says:

    I love the title. Not cheesy, and has a whimsical reference to “Pooh’s corner.” 🙂

  2. Schelley says:

    Though… a port-a-potty in the winter is not something that anyone really wants to use, right? Clean or not.

Leave a Reply

