Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

An Ode to Parents

on September 7, 2010

One of my favorite little guys

 

Alright, so I don’t think this blog will accommodate a full on ode, so perhaps a tribute is more appropriate. 

Before parenthood, most of these couples are fairly similar to my husband and me. They own an abode of some kind and do all the sundries associated with maintaining a household, go to work, eat out, have friends over and participate in various activities in their free time. Then their baby comes and everything, and nothing, changes. They still clean their houses, go grocery shopping and have friends over. They go to work everyday and come home and make dinner. This all seems obvious enough, but for someone who still can’t seem to fit in basics like cooking, ironing and doing laundry through the course of the day, I’m somewhat amazed that my friends, people who just months ago were very similar to me, somehow not only find the time to do these chores, but also to take care of a whole little person who is completely dependent upon them. 

I guess seeing my friends go through all of this makes me appreciate my parents all the more. Despite how I may have acted toward my parents growing up, I always knew I had it pretty good. I always had home-cooked meals, a bedroom to myself and really never wanted for anything. Sure, I may not have gotten every present on my Christmas list growing up (and with a list the size of mine, I think even the federal government probably couldn’t have afforded everything on my list), but I always had more than enough. My parents shuttled me around from marching band to drama club, my mom did my laundry and always made cookies or cupcakes for me to share with my class on my birthday and dad volunteered to be the assistant coach for my soccer team. This all seemed normal growing up, but now that I’m working and I realize how hard it can be to find enough hours in the day to get everything done, I guess I appreciate all the more how hard my parents, and all good parents, work to provide for their kids. 

Perhaps parenthood forces you to get everything together. I guess if your kids are awake at 5 am on a Saturday, then you really don’t have much of a choice but to be up at 5 am too. And despite my ability to run on peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and cereal for dinner, I know that little growing bodies need more than that. Just the same, despite knowing all of this, it still amazes me somewhat how quickly and easily my friends have made the transition from being just as scattered as I am, to being great parents. It’s comforting to know that if and when I decide to grow my family tree (Mom – if you’re reading this, don’t get too excited yet), that I’m surrounded by such wonderful role models. So, to all the good parents out there, mine included, thank you. Even if your kids don’t say it, much like I didn’t say it enough growing up, they (and I) do appreciate you. 

Me, 3 years old
Leave a Reply

