Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

Give it Away, Give it Away Now…

on October 1, 2010
American coins (also a jigsaw puzzle )

Image by uhuru1701 via Flickr

I could have written any of the posts this week. I, too, chose a job I love over better paying options. I, too, made a poor choice to go to (the same) expensive graduate school and will be paying for it until approximately 2036 (that is not an exaggeration!)  I have also felt the belt tightening and have chosen to turn down an employment opportunity because my gut said so (and yes, Christine, it did work out for the best!)  I have rarely been what most would call financially stable, and certainly not in the last three years.

But this post isn’t about that.  It’s about giving it away.

To be honest, I hate money.  I hate what it does to people, I hate what people do for it, and I hate how for so many it drives life.  The one thing I do like about money (besides buying that occasional pair of shoes) is giving to various charities.

Even though I haven’t been financially stable, I still find it very important to give money to various charities.  I give regularly to my church. It’s not a lot, but it’s steady and it adds up.  I also like to give to charities such as the Susan G. Koman Foundation, especially when people are doing the 5K run or the 3-Day walk.  I support friends in Relay For Life, and for many other national charities.

I also try to support locally.  Last year, the Rainier Valley Food Bank was broken into just before Thanksgiving and everything was stolen. Due to a news story and an outpouring of support, they were able to fully furnish many in need with their holiday dinner.  Last year, my mother and I took a carload of dog food, blankets, towels, and a pet carrier too small for our animals to the Everett Animal Shelter. I also have a soft spot for school fundraisers for either my students or friend’s kids. I didn’t really need that 3 lbs. of Snickerdoodle cookie dough, I did it for the High School ROTC program. 🙂

I’m not trying to make myself look all saintly.  My point is that even when you don’t have a lot, you can still give.  None of these were huge donations – $25 here, $15 there.  But it still made a difference to those in need and made me feel better about my world.

Leave a Reply

