Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

When did you first realize you had turned into your mother?

on October 19, 2010

This was a question posed to the host of a new women’s talk show that is supposed to air this week. It was an interesting question, and perhaps because I’m visiting my mother this week, it got me thinking.

I’ve always looked like my mother. I’ve known that for quite some time and it was only confirmed for me at my wedding last year when people who had never met my mother saw us together and commented on how much we looked alike.  That’s fine. But the question wasn’t referring to appearances. It was talking about the idiosyncrasies, mannerisms and behaviors that mom always did growing up that you’ve adopted. After just a few days of observation this week, I’ve come to a conclusion. I am definitely my mother’s daughter. Here is what I have observed:

  1. Both mom and I yell at things that can’t hear us – the news, other drivers, commercials. It may not seem to be terribly effective, but somehow it makes me feel better. I’m guessing the same is true for her.
  2. We personify inanimate objects, and then feel bad for them. I cannot tell you how many deformed and weird-looking stuffed animals I got when I was a kid because I was afraid no one else would want and love them.
  3. We’re both very good at putting things away in very safe spaces….so safe we can’t find them when we go back to look for them.
  4. Generally speaking, we’re fairly introverted and quiet, unless you make us mad.
  5. We have a tendency to gesticulate when we get excited.
  6. We follow the rules to a fault and then get annoyed when others don’t do likewise. I’m not talking about the rules of a game or big society-organizing laws. I’m talking about insignificant stuff like how to prepare your recycling for collection and not taking pictures in museums.
  7. We are not friends with math.
  8. We walk fast, talk fast and generally have no patience for slow people, unless they’re old or have a good reason for being slow.
  9. We have to check our cell phones multiple times before going into church, a play or other place where ringing phones would be uncouth to make sure, and then confirm, and then triple check that the phone is actually silent.

I’m sure there’s a lot more that I will continue to discover during the rest of my visit. Some people would be loathe to realize that they had turned into their mother. In my case, I think I’ve pretty much lucked out.

Leave a Reply

