Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

Going Out on a School Night

on December 16, 2010

Last night I did something I hardly ever do. I went out to a bar with a friend on a “school night”. His neighbor had invited him to a Music Trivia night at a local bar and knowing my eclectic love of music he invited me along.

It took a great deal of convincing to get me to go. I rarely go out on weeknights.  I tend to come home from work sit down and have no desire to get back up again. I enjoy being a lump and relaxing for the evening. This nearly happened last night. After mindlessly sitting I realized I had 20 minutes to get a shower, get dressed, and get to my friend’s house. Oops.

The other reason I don’t like going out on weeknights is how is effects me the next day. I have to get up very early for work and I never go to sleep right away when I get home from being out. Last night was no different. This makes me fairly useless the next morning if I’m even awake. These same side effects hit me this morning. My alarm on my phone confused me all 3 times it went off. I had no clue what the noise meant and generally had issues getting my motor going.

All that being said, I have completely been missing out not escaping out of my house one night a week. I had a great time. It was like name that tune with with a little music trivia mixed in and there was beer. For once, I found a use for the random information that just gets stuck in my brain and serves no purpose. Last night, however, it assisted in getting my table a free pitcher of beer.

We had a nice conversation about miscellaneous music knowledge and other innocuous topics. I realized why people do things like this. The trivia event gives friends and couples a good excuse to get together in the middle of the week. You could tell for most people winning wasn’t the important thing. It was a chance to decompress for one night to help get you through the rest of the week. It was a nice distracion from the everyday.

I’ll be groggy all morning thanks to my late bedtime and early alarm this morning. I’ll probably need more coffee for lunch. But it was worth it. It was nice to get out of the house a little bit in the middle of the week and it’ll help me get through the next few days until the weekend.

Next week they’re having a special Christmas themed trivia night. Good beer and testing my Christmas music knowledge? I don’t think I can pass that up.

Leave a Reply

