Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

Res-o-lu-TION!!!!

on December 28, 2010

(title should be sung as “Tradition!” from the musical “Fiddler on the Roof”…because that’s what popped in my head as I was sitting down to write my post today).

So Isabel’s post yesterday kind of took the wind out of my sails. Generally, I don’t make resolutions either. While I agree with Isabel’s stance of making a change when you’re ready and not just because it’s a new year,  if I want to be honest about it, my reason for not making New Years resolutions is because I know I’m not going to keep them, so why set myself up for disappointment? With that kind of attitude though, it’s hard to get anywhere. So I’m going to go against my normal practice and make some full on resolutions this year. Here goes:

Exercise: Quite possibly the most common New Year’s resolution. And quite possibly one of the most failed New Year’s resolutions. However, I feel I have a leg up on my exercise resolution. Several weeks ago, I started doing pilates and I’m really enjoying it. Unfortunately, with the craziness of the holidays, I got a bit off track in the last two weeks. I’m back at it THIS WEEK, rather than waiting for next week.

My other fitness-related goal is to start running. Here too, I have a bit of an advantage. I already told a friend I would do a 5K for one of the Breast Cancer charities this year. It’s one thing to go back on one of my resolutions, but it’s an entirely other matter to not uphold a commitment I made to someone else. I hope this commitment will be the motivation I need to get into a regular running program. But to help keep me in that frame of mind, I started reading Born to Run by Christopher McDougal.

Cook: I’m beyond tired of my dinners of pasta and garlic bread or cereal or PB&J. It’s time to start expanding my repertoire, and maybe even get to a point where I have multiple side dishes with my entrée. It’s a crazy notion, but I think it might be just crazy enough to work. I’m going to shoot for making a big dinner on Sunday, and have enough for lunch and leftovers for a day. If I can do that, and 2-3 more meals a week, I’ll be happy.

Patience and Temper: I’m not always a patient person. I also have quite the temper. I’m going to work on reigning in both this year. I know I’m not going to turn into Mother Theresa overnight, but if I can keep myself in check a quarter of the time more than I’m doing now, I’ll figure that’s pretty good progress.

I think that’s a good start. Like I said before, I don’t make resolutions so because I know I’m not going to keep them. I think these are pretty reasonable, and certainly attainable. I think the one that has the highest chance of failing is the cooking resolution, but I should be able to handle three meals a week.

To keep myself honest, I’ll use one of my free posts in a few months to report back on my status.

For all of you who make resolutions, good luck fulfilling them! And best wishes to everyone for a happy and healthy New Year!

One response to “Res-o-lu-TION!!!!

  1. […] Res-o-lu-TION!!!! (ourviewfromhere.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

