Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

I hereby resolve…

on December 31, 2010

I seem to do this post almost every year (2008, 2010). For me, I feel like stating my resolutions publicly helps me stick to them, as if the readers of my post will hold me accountable. Realistically, I know that most people just read them and then forget about them, but I don’t. I think it really does help me. So, here I am, ready to list the resolution I will attempt in 2011.

First, though, I want to look back at what I resolved last year and how I did:

Goal #1:  Improve my health

I think I pretty much failed at this one. Not that I didn’t try.  I did well for awhile – I was working out with a trainer and was increasing my endurance.  However, my trainer was suddenly let go when the gym decided to sell to another gym. I tried with another trainer, but she left soon after.  I did okay on my own for awhile until I got sick at the end of the summer. I don’t get sick often, but when I do, it’s a doozy. I was unable to do much working out for weeks. Then the school year started and I had a hard time making working out a priority.

Goal #2:  Manage my money

It’s not too hard to manage your money when you don’t have much. Coming out of grad school, I definitely had more debt than I had before school. However, I managed to win a scholarship and was able to continue subbing throughout my student teaching, so it could have been worse. As I am about to get my third regular paycheck since starting my new job,  I’m finally getting to a point that I am comfortable. My bills are all paid, including extra to pay down my credit cards. I’ve saved up a deposit for a new apartment. I think I did as well as I could, considering my situation.

Goal #3:  Get a job

Woot! I got this one covered. As most of our regular readers know, I was hired at the end of September as a special education teacher in a north Seattle middle school. It was an unexpected move for me – I wanted a high school in Snohomish county – but it’s really working out well so far and I’m truly happy with my students, my school, and my colleagues.

Okay, now for 2011. I feel this will be a year of many changes. I’m finally in a place to take some steps that I have wanted to take in awhile.

Goal #1:  Move out to my own place

I am eternally grateful to my mother, who let me move in with her when I decided to move back to the Seattle area a little more than three years ago. We get along well, so it worked out nicely. However, neither of us expected on me staying this long. We also didn’t expect the recession, me losing my job, and the crash of the housing market. Staying here turned out to be to both of our advantages over the past 18 months, but I am ready to move on. My stuff has been in storage since I got here and I miss it. I want my own space where I can do things my own way, instead of the same way my mother has been doing them for the last 30 years. I have a deposit saved up, I just need to find a nice little place that takes 20 lb. dogs!

Goal #2: Expand my social circle

When I lived back in PA/NJ/NY, I had a great groups of friends that I could call up and they would come to visit or I would visit them. There were months where I rarely spent a weekend at home because I was off visiting someone else.  Since I moved here, I haven’t had much of a social life. It got a little better this past year when I met some great people at the UW, but we’ve sort of lost touch these last few months – half of us are starting new jobs, the rest are in their student teaching. I hope that in moving down toward Seattle, I will better be able to meet up with friends and make new ones.

Burke-Gilman Trail

Image by nathansnostalgia via Flickr

Goal #3:  Improve my health

I hate making excuses, but I really feel that moving will also help this goal. I will have more control over the food that comes into my house (if someone buys cookies, I will eat cookies!). I will also gain about two hours a day since my commute will be much shorter.

The biggest area for improvement is in exercising. I need to lose a bit of weight, and according to Toby’s last vet appointment, he could lose a pound or two as well. So, he and I need to get out for some nice long walks soon. The area I’m looking at moving to is right near the Burke-Gilman trail, a long bike/running trail along Lake Washington. I bought a bike last spring and haven’t been able to use it much.  It would be convenient to ride on the trail or even to work everyday. Ideally, I would like to run a 5K in the fall. I’m not going to commit to a specific one because I’m not sure when I will be able to get started, but there are plenty of great runs in the fall that I can choose from, including the 5K that is part of the Seattle Marathon weekend (which takes place the Saturday after Thanksgiving). I’ll figure that out when it all gets a little closer.

They aren’t ambitious goals. I know my life is going to change a lot in the first few months of the year, and everything that I’m hoping to accomplish will be greatly affected by that.

One response to “I hereby resolve…

  1. […] entry is cross-posted at Our View From Here – a blog I more regularly post to than this […]

Leave a Reply

