Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

Moving On

on January 6, 2011

I admit it. I’m sorry. I forgot to write my post last night. I was busy preparing for today and it completely slipped my mind. I’ve decided to write a variation on this week’s theme of “Moving”. I promise to write a witty post about my actual move when it happens.

I am moving on to looking toward my future (It’s a type of moving. It applies.) I posted last week about my last day at my old job. Today, I put on my big girl pants and went down to an industry trade show to pass out resumes and meet people. Also pick up some swag here and there.

I had to will myself to go and also needed a solid nudge from my old boss. I am not a fan of job hunting or networking. I like to work. I like to come in to the office in the morning with a task to concentrate on. Even when I was in college I’d rather be working than sitting in class. The only way I’ll get back to happy daily productivity is to hurl myself into hunting.

I spent the day walking up and down the aisles with little progress in the morning, I only handed out 2 resumes. To be honest I was more focused on saying hi to old co-workers. But the afternoon yielded actual progress. I ran into a sales rep I used to work with who grabbed a stack of resumes to hand off to people he knows. I stopped by to talk to one broker I know who’s already helped me line up interviews. He not only took a bunch of resumes but introduced me to a couple people. One person who has connections and will pass along my information and another person who is very interested. In fact, it looks like I’ll get to visit their farm next week. (Yay!)

I’m so glad I pushed myself to make the move to go to the show. Even if I don’t get a job from the one visit I was reminded that my network is bigger than I thought and that my thoughts about my industry were confirmed. Most of the jobs in my industry aren’t posted and it really is who you know. Tomorrow I will move forward with follow up.

For now I want a celebratory beer for a productive day well spent and rest my weary feet. Oh!  I also picked up some nice swag in the form of re-usable shopping bags. Score!

3 responses to “Moving On

  1. Schelley says:

    Where is the farm that you may be visiting next week?
    You’ll have to keep us all up-to-date!! :o)

  2. Rose says:

    Hey, great post. Great blog. It is fresh and to the point. I just read literally dozens of blogs, because I can’t sleep, and yours is by far the best quality. You know it is rare to find decent content on these things… Most of them are cheap and spammy.

    • Christine says:

      Rose,

      Thank you for the compliments. I’m glad you enjoyed the post. This blog is my first attempt at this sort of thing so positive is very encouraging. I hope you keep reading and sorry I didn’t reply sooner.

      Christine

Leave a Reply

