Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

Don’t Worry, Be Happy

on January 25, 2011

Is it just me, or is 2011 off to a rough start for anyone else? It seems like since the new year, aside from a few glimmers here and there, I’ve received nothing but bad news – friends and family members in the hospital, illnesses, and sadly even death. Add that to the post-holiday doldrums and the cold temps that can make so many people lethargic and sluggish, I figure we could all use a bit of a boost. Today’s post is dedicated to things that make me, and I hope you, crack a smile:

Two related blogs I follow are Daily Squee and Cute Overload. I can’t help but smile when cute animals are involved.

Sleep Talkin’ Man: Sleep Talkin Man (STM) is a man in the UK that has a very active and colorful diatribe while sleeping. His wife sets up a recorder and shares everything STM has to say. Hysterical.

Cake Wrecks: The tagline is, “When Professional Cakes go Horribly, Hilariously Wrong.” This blog showcases pictures of “professionally” decorated cakes. The woman who writes it is witty and has a sarcastic sense of humor and I never ceased to be stunned by the cakes bakers expect people to pay for.

Damn You Auto Correct: This is what happens when technology tries to get too smart. Often not appropriate for work. Besides, you’d have to explain to your co-workers why you’re laughing so hard you’re crying.

The GE Elephant: An Elephant dancing to Singin’ in the Rain – can it get any better?? So cute, so happy. I would be lying if I said I never got up and danced with him. GE has a new commercial out right now starring my favorite dancing elephant, which is also pretty darn cute, but I like the original best (just don’t read the comments on this video. That’s decidedly unhappy).

Another tried and true method to shake me out of the blues is to go to youtube and watch clips of old cartoons I used to watch as a kid.

Yes, these are all pretty superficial ways of cheering up, and unfortunately, I know the above won’t do anything for my loved ones who are really hurting right now, but for the rest of us, if any of these brought a smile to your face, then my work here is done.

Leave a Reply

