Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

My Summer Vacation

on January 26, 2011

No, your calendar isn’t wrong. It’s January.  But, I’ll be conveniently ignoring that for the next few paragraphs because I am in the throes of the winter doldrums, and we’re really only a month into this slog.  We’ve had a fairly large dose of snow every week this month and all the digging, trudging and freezing are wearing thin my patience and pleasant demeanor. 

So, today, I’m planning my summer vacation. 

Last summer was one of the most fun I’ve ever had.  I kicked off the season with a week in Tennessee, on a houseboat.  It was great. There was nothing to do but sunbathe, swim, boat and drink cocktails.  At night we played games and watched fireworks.  We also held the First Annual Blow-it-out-Your-Ass Contest (a thrilling sport, in which contestants use their lungs to expell air through the hole in the center of a floating noodle held underneath the body. The championship is awarded to the contestant whose water goes the highest in the air.  It’s way more fun than it sounds.)

Waterworld

Following the trip to TN, I opened my family’s lake house to my friends for a week and a half.  You never really know how many friends you have until you have a free place by a lake for them to stay.  We boated and cooked and had camp fires and played games.  I stayed at the lake the whole week and half, and friends came up for a few days at their leisure.  The fridge was kept stocked with beer and fresh vegetables. We kayaked to secluded islands to pick wild blueberries, we swam, we floated, we went for long walks.  It was splendid.

This year, we’re doing it all again. 

And, this, my friends, is what’s keeping me going through the snow and the slush and the freezing rain.  Even though, right now, it feels like it will never be warm and sunny again, the memories of what last summer was and the hopes for what this summer will be are keeping me warm in this season of little sun and long cold nights.  

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go dig my car out from under a snowbank.

Leave a Reply

