Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

Workin’ 9 to 5

on February 1, 2011

It is more or less a given that come 5 o’clock, if you were to wander into my office,  you would find me packing up my bag to go home and shutting down my computer. I don’t stay late unless absolutely necessary, and generally, provided the trains are cooperating with me, I’m coming in with a few minutes to spare before 9 am. I’m not a slacker though. It’s rare for me to actually leave the office for lunch or errands. I bring my lunch and sit at my desk and eat it. I typically don’t engage in long conversations with co-workers and shoot the breeze (unless something really juicy is going on!). Most years I’m carrying over vacation time because I haven’t taken off enough days to use them all in one year. I do my job but I don’t fall on my sword for the company.

I’m a firm believer in work time and home time and I don’t like one to encroach upon the other.  I am paid to go to work for 8 hours a day, 5 days a week; the other 16 hours of the day and weekend are mine. I think this attitude is heavily influenced by the length of my commute. As it is, leaving at 5 gets me home about 6:45. If I’m out the door five minutes later, I’m home just after 7. As the night wears on, I get home later and later since I’m at the mercy of the train schedule. If I lived closer to work, I don’t think I would be pounding pavement quite so eagerly at 5. But maybe I would be.  Life is too short to be working all the time, unless of course your work is your absolute passion. If so, kudos to you.

For the rest of us, I think we should have more stories about family, friends and our hobbies than what we did at work.

One response to “Workin’ 9 to 5

  1. Schelley says:

    I wish I could do that, but I often find myself logging in from home to finish this, check on that, flat-out do something that I didn’t have enough hours in the day for. I particularly dislike that kind of thing when I am salary.

    I’m glad that I got my weekends back, though. I left my part-time job (of 5 years) this past October.

Leave a Reply

