Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

Pet Peeves

on February 8, 2011

I’ve had a few annoying weeks and am feeling the need to vent and I always feel better after venting about my pet peeves. I hope to do so with a bit of humor so as not to make you cranky as well, but if you find yourself getting irate, close this window and think about puppies. Come back tomorrow and try again. And now, without further ado, my top five (yes, I can easily come up with five) pet peeves:

  1. People who try to walk and text at the same time. This really is no different than texting and driving, but since I walk more than I drive on the average day, I find this more infuriating. I have no patience when I’m trying to get somewhere in a hurry (which is usually all the time) and the person in front of me is moving at a snail’s pace because s/he is texting at the same time. Surely, after the video of the woman who fell into the mall fountain while texting went viral a couple of weeks ago, we should all be able to agree that texting and walking does not make for a good combination. Stand to the side, send your text and then resume walking.
  2. People who like to walk 3-4 abreast on a sidewalk or any walkway really. As alluded to above, I tend to walk fast and few things steam me up more when people are blocking my way and preventing me from passing them. This is especially irksome during NYC’s prime tourist season. Speaking of….
  3. Tourists who do not attempt to acclimate. I’ve been a tourist plenty of times and I’m sure I’ve made some gaffs in my time, but when I notice them I try to correct them so I’m not being inconsiderate to the locals. For example, when I went to London, I started walking down the staircase to the tube on the right-hand side of the staircase, like I would in the US. I quickly realized that just as the Brits drive on the left, they default to walking on the left. After apologizing to the crowd coming up I quickly scooched over to the other side. Easy peasy. I understand tourists aren’t going to know how everything works, and that’s ok. But at least be aware of what is going on around you and try to blend.
  4. The example above reminds me of another one of my pet peeves. People who walk on the wrong side of the walkway. Years ago, I was crewing a concert at the local performance venue. The crew chief was trying to get back to his console to run the show but was having a hard time with all the people milling around. What he said into the headset has stuck with me for years: “This is America, people. We drive on the right, we walk on the right.” Here, here, my good man!
  5. People who wear ball caps inside. I know, this one seems a bit random, but in 8th grade my band teacher always told students to take their hats off when they came inside. Rather than just defer to the school dress code, he explained that wearing a hat inside was poor manners. In addition to the many musical lessons this teacher taught me (like finally understanding 6/8 time!) this is one lesson that always stayed with me.

If I were to think about this for a few minutes longer, I’m sure I could come up with more of my pet peeves, but I feel sufficiently vented now. Just the same, maybe I’ll go watch recaps of Puppy Bowl.

One response to “Pet Peeves

  1. Samantha says:

    Recently, the school I work at instituted a new policy – when walking in the hallways between classes, stay to the right side of the hall. The students have had trouble with this idea, but it is slowly starting to work. Of course, I think part of the problem is that they sometimes don’t know their left from their right, but we’re getting there. It makes it a heck of a lot easier to get through the hallways.

Leave a Reply

