Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

Lame jokes and other happy things.

on February 9, 2011

As I predicted in early January, I am now thoroughly sick of winter.  I’m fed up with icy sidewalks (missed my bus this morning because I was walking slowly to avoid slipping), I’m tired of digging and I’m in a really grumpy mood a lot of the time.  In order to abate my grumpiness I’ve taken to collecting happy things. 

I bought cheesecake last week to share with my co-workers. A friend sent me a link to penguin finger puppets.  I email people funny or cute links.  Sometimes, I come across links that remind me of how ridiculous the snow has been this year.



The other day, in our office, we sat around and told jokes.  Lame jokes.  But, they made me smile, and for a moment, I forgot about trudging through snow, frigid fingertips and watery eyes.  I’ll share a few of those with you, some of which I’m sure you’ve heard before.

A man walks into a bar and says, “ouch.”

 What time is it when an elephant sits on your fence?
Time to get a new fence.

 

 How do you know when an elephant has been in your refrigerator? 
There are footprints in the butter.

The three worst mistakes you can make are overpromising and underdelivering.

 

 

 

 

 

Yes, quite a few of the jokes we traded were about elephants.  No, I don’t know why.  

I’m just trying to focus on small things that make me grin, rather than the big things that make me grimace.  It’s going to be a long winter.  No matter what the February 2 rodent says. 

One response to “Lame jokes and other happy things.

  1. […] this will be a downer post. If you were looking for something happy and cheerful, I recommend Nicki’s post from earlier this […]

Leave a Reply

