Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

The Love of Family and Friends

on February 17, 2011

I love my friends and family. This week has reminded me how lucky I am to have these people in my life. My parents have been here most of the week. My dad moving heavy objects making minor adjustments to ensure my apartment is set. My mother spent 2 straight days just unpacking and washing kitchenware. My friends who live locally came up and helped haul large heavy items up to my second floor apartment that my back won’t let me carry. My godmother sent me house warming presents in two big boxes that arrived just in time to cheer me up on a particularly stressful day. My big sister called to check on me and talked me through some of my moving frustrations putting me on the verge of a breakdown. Friends who weren’t close enough to help with the move have checked in to see how I’m doing and wish me luck. Times like this are when you realize how great the people are around you. It reaffirms the unconditional love of family. No matter how many times I snapped at my parents out of frustration they continued to help me and when I’d apologized they reminded me the loved me. They knew I was sore and tired and frustrated by my limitations. I may not have  found my soul mate yet like some of the other people my age but at least I know I have family and friends that love me and will be there for me when I need them. If you were one of those people that has helped me over the past week or two either helping me move out or helping me move in you know who you are and know I’m thankful that you are part of my life.

That’s all I have for this week folks.Here’s a parting song that sums up my love for my family. The one I was born with and the one I’ve gathered through my life.

If you’ve never seen James and the Giant Peach it’s a cute movie. A little odd at times but overall very cute.

Leave a Reply

