Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

Procrastination – a blogger cries for help

on February 22, 2011

If I were to name my biggest flaw as a person, procrastination, if not in the number one spot, would certainly reside within the top 3. My procrastination is somewhat fickle. While I occasionally have those days where I just can’t seem to get anything done, more often than not, my workday consists of me diligently checking items off my to-do list. I also pay all my bills on time, but the other stuff for my personal life seems to be lacking. I’m at least 2 months overdue in getting a haircut and I’ve missed my annual checkup with my doctor for the last 2-3 years. I once went 6 years without going to the dentist (and still didn’t get any cavities, thank you very much!) all because I couldn’t be bothered to make an appointment. A year and a half after my wedding, I still haven’t submitted all the paperwork my videographer needs to do my wedding video (though I mostly blame my husband for that). Somehow, my gracious family hasn’t disowned me yet, despite the fact that I routinely send holiday and birthday cards/presents a week late…if not more. I think the worst I ever did was Christmas presents in July….even for me that was a bit ridiculous.

Despite my best efforts, I’ve never found a way to kick this procrastination habit. I have my days where I’m super productive, but I’ve found these often occur after I’ve let things build up for awhile and I have no choice but to start taking care of them. I know I’m busy and don’t have a lot of spare hours in the day, but I also know I rely on that as an excuse far too often for why I can’t get things done. So, gentle readers, I’m turning to you for your best procrastination-beating tips, with the added bonus of making this blog more interactive. Respond via comments through the blog, or through posting a comment on Facebook. Depending on the responses, I may do a little mini-post in the coming days with the best suggestions. Thanks in advance for your help!

Leave a Reply

