Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

Gearing Up

on February 23, 2011

This Winter I’ve been sedentary.  That is, when I’m not shoveling the enormous amounts of snow we’ve been buried under.  In the Fall, I was on the move.  Starting in the Summer, I ran, at least three times a week and I logged fifty miles in October.

But, at the beginning of November, I caught a cold.  It might seem like a small thing, but, it coincided with the week that the weather took a turn.  (excuses, excuses) I went for a few short runs around Thanksgiving, but I couldn’t handle the cold.  With the craziness of the holiday season, I gave myself a break.

After Christmas, I started trying to re-motivate myself.  I bought cold-weather running gear.  I went running on New Years Eve.  But, since then, I’ve only used my cold weather gear to walk the dog, as I’ve watched my neighborhood get more and more buried in the evil white menace.

I joined a gym in January.  I’ve been once.

I bought a Groupon for kickboxing.  I haven’t used it yet.

I got an app for 10k training, but didn’t have a way to carry my iPod.  I ordered an armband.

I’m starting to run out of excuses to run. I’ve got the gear, the tunes, the membership….

I think I might need new shoes.

But, I’m feeling like I can’t wait, my body wants to get out there and move.

Leave a Reply

