Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

A Return to the Daily Grind

on February 24, 2011

This week marks the beginning of my new job. I’m just over halfway through the week and am completely wiped out. It’s amazing how quickly you can get used to doing nothing all day. Sleeping in late and staying up until the wee hours of the morning. Now I actually have to get up when my alarm goes off. Over all its a good feeling. It’s nice to have someplace to go in the morning.

My first day was good but slow. I’d forgotten what it’s like to completely start out new somewhere. I’d been at my previous company for over 8 years. Even when I changed jobs, I was still familiar with the system and the people around me. I feel like I’m learning a foreign language now. I went from an old DOS based system to one that functions in windows. You can actually use the mouse to click on things…sometimes. There’s a lot to learn. I have my own office…well “office”. I think they were using it as a storage room and there was plenty of room left over for a desk. The last time I had an office it was a converted storage closet so really it’s nothing new. This one is bigger though and it has a bigger window and a better view. The view really is nice. It not only over looks the farm but there’s a small mountain range as a backdrop. It reminds me of why I wanted to move up in to New England in the first place.

Today I was able to spend the entire day going out and looking at crops. It was so nice to go walking through the plants again. Even if some of them are frozen solid to the ground making walking a little difficult. For the first time in a long time I put in a full 8 hours of solid work. No training, or getting used to the system, or killing time because there’s nothing else to do, just work. I felt like I was going to keel over when it was time to go home. Fortunately my work habits were easy to slip back into but the energy required to make it through a full work week will take some getting used to. I have a feeling this weekend will be filled with mostly sleep and sitting.

Over all its been a good three days. Everyone I’m working with seems really nice and there’s a cute office mascot. An 8 year old poochie named Abby who loves to play fetch with her tennis balls and is spoiled by everyone. I have a lot of work ahead of me but I’m looking forward to it. It feels good to be productive again.

Oh! I forgot the best part! And it’s not the indoor plumbing. Although having a bathroom and a full kitchen with a sink is awesome. The office kitchen has a Keurig! My kind of coffee whenever I want? Yes please and thank you.

Leave a Reply

