Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

It’s the Muppet Show!

on March 4, 2011
The Muppet Show

Image via Wikipedia

Okay, so going on the last day of the week sometimes has its downsides.  I, too, am a lover of the Smurfs and Fraggle Rock.  I was sitting at my sister’s side as she watched She-Ra. The Cosby Show was one of the greatest sitcoms ever.  But I can’t believe that no one mentioned the greatest television show ever made…

I have always been a Muppet Fan.  One of my favorite pictures from  my childhood shows me hanging onto the edge of my playpen, staring up at the TV and I am clearly watching the original Muppet Show.  My favorite all time guest was Elton John, especially when he did “”Crocodile Rock.”

I always loved the fantastic characters, especially the on and off romance of Miss Piggy and Kermit. I always felt bad for Fozzie, too, especially when Stadler and Waldorf (aka the two old guys in the balcony) were making fun of him. But mostly I just loved the general silliness yet high quality production.

I was also a big fan of their anamated spin-off, Muppet Babies!

How is it I still know all the lyrics to this song??  Anyway, I thought it was funny that we never saw more than Nanny’s stripped legs and maybe a hand.  I loved all of the parodies of various stories like “Raiders of the Lost Muppet,” Star Trek, and “Snow White and the Seven Muppets.”  This show simply made me happy.

In the immortal words of Baby Animal, “Go bye bye!!”

2 responses to “It’s the Muppet Show!

  1. […] The Muppets and Muppet babies themes still lives in my MP3 list. Samantha played them for you last week. Warner Brothers got in on the act and have their own theme ingrained in my brain. “In this […]

  2. […] The Muppets and Muppet babies themes still lives in my MP3 list. Samantha played them for you last week. Warner Brothers got in on the act and have their own theme ingrained in my brain. “In this […]

Leave a Reply

