Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

Getting my groove back

on March 9, 2011

Last October, I had this thing figured out.  I was doing great.  I was in a groove.  This week, I decided it was time to reclaim that groove.  Turns out, my groove could probably have waited until we had two or three more warm days.

I went running on Saturday, and it was going so well.  Yes, there was still some slush, and the puddles were big, but I told myself, “This is hardcore.  Be hardcore.”  It was, of course, a bit of a lie.  If I were really hardcore, I would have been running all winter, like the other crazies in my neighborhood.  Apparently, I’m not cut out for hardcore.

It all started out so well.  I’m using a 10k interval training program.  I was finishing the final minute of my final interval.  Then, disaster struck; I smashed my baby toe on a granite obelisk.

Say what?

Yes, a small granite obelisk. Picture a miniature Washington Monument in granite next to a patch of ice.  To this picture, add me and my dog, thinking we’re doing quite well.  It’s a recipe for disaster.  (In fact, adding me to any picture involving any small amount of physical danger is always a recipe for disaster.)

This injury hasn’t put me off my Vibram Five Fingers!  Even though my toe is complaining, I still think these are the best shoes I’ve ever run in.  They are the shoes that actually got me running in the first place!  How can I abandon them now?  I actually went out on Monday and bought myself a new pair.

Aren’t they pretty?

So my groove?  I got it back for all of a half an hour.  The rest of the week I’ve been nursing a throbbing foot, decidedly grooveless.  I got a taste, though, of what I had achieved last Fall.  Once I’m healed, I’m gonna go chasing that groove again!

2 responses to “Getting my groove back

  1. bearrunner says:

    Great to see the temperatures rise a little but with that comes the pesky puddles! Ouch for the toe! Hope it is O.K? Such small little feet…

    cheers

Leave a Reply

