Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

Unexpected Difficulties

on March 17, 2011

This move to Connecticut is my first major relocation. I’ve lived in the same area my whole life (apart from college) and have really taken for granted the basic knowledge of the area I learned growing up. I moved from suburbia to suburbia so it hasn’t been too jarring. Life is still highways to get where you’re going. Chains that are ever present in suburbia are here too. But not all chains.

Back home we have wonderful places called Wawa. Fantastic convenient stores usually with many gas pumps. It is a well known fact that Wawa has the cheapest gas in any area. I suddenly realized when needing my first refill that I had NO clue which gas stations were reliably cheap. When I went to get groceries, I was horribly disappointed in the selection and the produce at the nearest grocery store. Back home there was a reliable chain where you knew the produce was good and the prices were cheap or even the high end chain where it was more expensive but the quality was great. Here, I have to go by what co-workers and neighbors say and opinions vary greatly. I’ve finally settled on a store I like. I think.

The first week I went to work I turned on the TV for traffic and weather and realized I didn’t know which channel to turn to. At home, I tuned in to 6 ABC where they had traffic and weather updates every six or so minutes. My dilemma was quickly resolved when I noticed it was an hour later than I used to leave for work and there was only one local news show left available.

Speaking of traffic. Recently we’ve had some issues with flooding thanks to the combination of tons of melting snow and a lot of rain. I did my normal learned behavior of checking with the radio to find out what roads to avoid. This didn’t work for two reasons. First, they named a bunch of streets that were flooded. Charles Ave between 1st and 2nd Street. Ok good…where is that exactly? I went with the theory if I didn’t know the road it wasn’t one on my commute and to not do any exploring while random roads were flooded. The second problem was when the DJs got tired of listing the flooded streets. They reverted to the tactic that never threw me before, and I quote, “Basically if its a road that usually floods when we get really heavy rains it’s flooded now. You know which ones to avoid.” (No I don’t!) I never knew how entirely NOT helpful that is until now. If you know which roads tend to flood you don’t need the radio to tell you that once again, in this torrential rain, they have flooded. If you’re not from around here it’d be nice if at some point you mention which roads these tend to be. Again, I opted for no exploration  and to just go home and ponder what else is missing from my kitchen besides cooking spray and olive oil.

These little things just keep popping up that just come with the territory of moving somewhere new. Of course that’s part of the excitement that Nicole was talking about yesterday. I need to find a new go to Mexican restaurant. I need a new favorite pizza place. And the most important part, where to get a good hoagie. I don’t care if they call them grinders here (that was another bit of confusion) they’re hoagies.

For the time being, I know I can get a pretty good sandwich at Panera. If I really need to go someplace that feels familiar there’s always Target. It is suburbia after all.

PS – Happy St. Patrick’s Day to all my Irish friends out there!

Leave a Reply

