Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

Tut, tut! Looks Like Rain!

on March 22, 2011

I love the rain. I don’t know how one can be from the Pacific Northwest and not appreciate the rain. Move to California I guess. I’ve always found the sound of rainfall comforting – chalk it up to countless childhood nights falling asleep to it. I also love the smell of rain, when you can take a deep breath and just smell the impending storm. And the smell afterward when everything seems clean and fresh. I love the spring showers and the summer downpours. I even like the fall storms when the wind is blowing, the leaves are falling and it’s cold and dreary. I love snuggling under a blanket and reading a good book or watching a favorite movie. There is one thing I don’t love about the rain though, and that is umbrellas.

To be accurate, I feel no malice toward umbrellas themselves. In the right hands, they’re perfectly innocent tools to keep off the rain. In the wrong hands, they’re evil weapons of DOOM. Perhaps I’m slightly overly dramatic, but I cannot count how many times I’ve been nearly poked in the eye or been hit in the head by a careless umbrella bearer. I used to not carry an umbrella. I found them to be more cumbersome than they were worth. My rain jacket and hood kept me just as dry as an umbrella. I started using an umbrella not to keep myself dry, but to ward off all the other umbrellas. After one too many near run-ins with the pointy end of an umbrella, I decided it was time to start protecting myself. At least by carrying an umbrella I could put some more distance between myself and the other umbrellas.

I have enough problems with the standard size umbrella; don’t even get me started on the beach umbrellas some people feel it’s appropriate to walk down a crowded city street with. Of course, these are the people that seem most oblivious to where their umbrellas are in relation to their bodies and any body else. Really though, walking down a sidewalk on a rainy day shouldn’t be too difficult. Let me explain. When two people carrying umbrellas are approaching one another, one can raise their umbrella while the other person slightly lowers their umbrella, allowing the two people to pass by without jostling one another. Simple, yet it seems to escape the majority of the population. So, world, consider this your lesson on proper umbrella etiquette. I expect to see a noticeable improvement for the next rain storm. Thank you.

Now that we have those sundries taken care of, I’ve decided to include two of my favorite clips about rain. First, is Mr. Gene Kelley in Singing in the Rain:

I love the part where he just lets loose and starts jumping in the puddles. How much fun is that?!

And the second clip is Winnie the Pooh, being the cutest rain cloud you ever saw. Tut tut, looks like rain!

Perhaps the next time you’re caught in the rain, you can think back to these clips, and maybe it won’t seem so dreary.  And watch out for umbrellas.

One response to “Tut, tut! Looks Like Rain!

  1. Samantha says:

    I started carrying one of those golf umbrellas just to protect myself! It was easier than wearing safety goggles to protect my eyes!

Leave a Reply

