Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

Reignited Reading

on March 23, 2011

It was with much trepidation that I recently joined a book club.  I’ve never be a part of a book club before, and hadn’t read with a group since college.  I love reading, but generally, I love reading what I want to read.  So surrendering my reading choices to the whims of a group of strangers felt like an odd choice for me.

It turned out really well.  I enjoyed our selection, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, and our discussions about the book flowed very well, considering many of us didn’t know the others.  I joined the club with a friend from work.  The meeting was held at her other friend’s home, and the other members were all friends of that person.   Also, I can’t be entirely certain, but I’m pretty sure all the other members were about 6 or 7 years younger than me.  Normally, this wouldn’t be any kind of issue, and when it came to the book and our discussions and analysis of it, it wasn’t.  But there’s a very real-feeling generation gap I feel with people who’ve just left college. Student life is still very much a part of their life and their thinking, and I no longer feel that way.  All of these things led to my trepidation.

It’s been driven home to me over and over, and I still haven’t fully learned the lesson: it’s good to try new things; it usually won’t hurt and you’ll probably enjoy it.  I did have fun.  I did enjoy the book.  I also learned from my fellow-book club members and that deepened my enjoyment of the book.  And the side effect of trying this new thing: I’m excited about reading again.

My interest in reading waxes and wanes.  Occasionally, I just can’t get jazzed about anything there is to read.  I can’t bring myself to pick up a new book.  Sometimes this is because I’ve just finished something really good and I don’t want to read something that could be bad, other times, it’s simply because of ennui.  Lately it’s been the latter.  But now, there are at least three exciting books in my personal queue.  And, I’m curious about some of the themes addressed in Guernsey. I’m exploring some of the historical aspects addressed in the book.  It also helps that one of my favorite authors just came out with a new book.

And, on top of all these new and thrilling books, I have another book club book for next month!

Leave a Reply

