Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

“Regrets. I’ve got a few…”

on March 31, 2011

“…but then again too few to mention.”

I had trouble figuring out how to write this post. Hence the tardiness in getting it posted. I have a handful of regrets from my life so far. Some small, along the lines of, “I should’ve asked her to get me a McGriddle!” That would be this morning’s regret when a coworker called to say she was stopping at McDonalds and asked if I wanted anything. Instinctively said “Nah I’m good.” Grr…I could’ve had a McGriddle.

There are some middle of the road regrets. Things I wish I’d done when I had the chance but didn’t for some reason and to this day I can’t figure out why I didn’t. I wish I would’ve joined the chorus in high school. I wish I had looked into and actually done some study abroad in college. The regrets of an older and wiser brain looking back on missed opportunities of youth I suppose.

And there are a couple…just a couple…big regrets. Opportunities that for one reason or another, mostly fear, I let slip through my fingers. These are the ones that will bog me down if I’m having a particularly down day. The type that make me wonder what my life would be like had I acted on my feelings or gone in that different direction. A couple close friends know my big regrets I prefer it that way (no offense to the public domain that reads this).

Like Amanda I don’t like to dwell on them. I will remind myself that had I not made the choices I did I wouldn’t be here. I wouldn’t have some of the friends that I treasure. I may not have had some of the opportunities I have now. Has my life at 30 turned out like I thought it would when I was 10? Oh hell no. But that poor naive child had no idea what she was wishing for. Are there things about my life I wish were different? Of course there are but it could be a lot worse. For right now my life is good and I can continue to do things to improve it. I’ve already taken great steps this year. I was tired of living at home in PA. So I found a job in CT that forced me to move out. Through the year I’ll continue to make strides to get my life to where I want it.

Overall I try to be glass half full when it comes to any regrets I may have. The minor ones…honestly a McGriddle isn’t exactly the healthiest breakfast. All the way to the major ones…..who’s to say my life would be better? No matter what I at least try to learn from my regrets. We’re all human and will make mistakes that can lead to regrets. we’ve all been told over and over. It’s ok to make mistakes as long as you learn from them. In the case of mistakes that result in regrets. Learn from them and move on so you can get it right next time…

I just love a corny segue. I don’t regret that at all.  😀 I do regret that I couldn’t find a better video for this very apt song. 😦

Leave a Reply

