Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

A Little Dose of Home

on April 7, 2011

Some of you may remember my post from last year declaring my Phillies fandom. Last week marked the beginning of the Major League baseball season. To be sure I could watch my Phillies in the land of Red Sox and Yankees fans I got the MLB subscription to watch the games on my computer. I splurged and got the upgraded service that lets me watch the game with the Philly broadcasters. One of my friends gave me a cable adapter so I can hook my laptop up to my TV so it’s almost exactly like I watched at home.

Friday night I hooked everything up and settled in to watch the Phillies season opener. As soon as I heard the greeting from Tom McCarthy, Chris “Wheels” Wheeler and Gary Matthews (aka Sarge), I began getting pangs of homesickness.  I’m happy up here in Connecticut but there will always be a place in my heart for my hometown area. I didn’t think I missed too much other than the people that were in my life there. Hearing those voices made me realized how much I miss the familiarity of everything back home. Knowing the anchors and the weathermen on the local news. Recognizing the voices of the local morning shows on the radio. Heck part of me even misses hearing Jim Sipala saying he wants to see me in a Kia (Jim Sipala wants ta see ya in a Kia…god I hated those commercials..if you want to torture yourself here’s the link: It’s Craaaa-ZEE!‘…ugh).

Spring is a stressful time of year for me. It always involves long hours and so many people at work are cranky and on edge. It amazes me how many people in my industry have been doing it for years and still get all stressed and overwhelmed when the insanity of Spring hits. It’s nice to know that when I get home from work after one of those stressful days I can turn on my computer,  settle in to watch my Phillies and get a soothing dose of Philly familiarity.

 

Ah Citizen's Bank Park, aren't you a sight for sore eyes.

ANNOUNCEMENT:

The week of April 25, Our View From Here will be holding its first virtual book club!  We will all be reading, and commenting on, the book Water for Elephantsby Sara Gruen.  Read along with us!

Leave a Reply

