Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

Weighty Issues

on April 8, 2011
Jadever Body Fat Scale. Old version of model J...

Image via Wikipedia

I’ve kept quiet about this for a little while now, not wanting to jinx myself by declaring it to the world. But, I’ve decided that it’s time to say something.

Back in January, I started making a concerted effort to get healthier in two ways – losing weight and getting fit.  I joined Weight Watchers at the beginning of the year and have stuck with it.  Since January 8th, I’ve lost 13.7 pounds.  While that may not sound like a lot, I’m a small person and every little bit of extra weight makes a difference.  I’ve found that the program is pretty easy to follow, especially the online version. I don’t do meetings, so tracking all of my stats online works best for me.  I’m allowed to have whatever I want and every food has a point value. As long as I don’t go over my allotted points for the day, I’m good. It does encourage me to make better choices.  Fruit has no points, so I find myself reaching for an apple more often.  Whatever it is, it’s working for me. My pants fit well and, in some cases, are starting to fall off without a belt. Blouses that started to pucker are lying flat.  All over, I feel much better.

The second goal – getting fit – took awhile to get started. I wanted to concentrate on my weight loss through my diet first.  I’ve found in the past that when I try to do too much too fast, I get frustrated and give up.  Once my diet was stable and successful, I decided to get back into exercise. Previously, I joined a gym, which worked until the gym was sold, my trainer fired, and the whole experience left a bad taste in my mouth.  This time, I decided to take up running. I ran in high school and loved it, but haven’t done much since.  I found a Couch to 5K program that I liked and hit the treadmill.

At about this same time, a running group started up at school. I happened to have lunch with a couple of the people in the group and was invited to join.  I liked the idea of running in the school neighborhood with some colleagues after school.  Then I found out that the end goal is to run together in the Seattle Marathon or Half-Marathon in November.  When I started this, I didn’t have an end goal in mind. I just wanted to run.  But having that Half-Marathon floating out there – albeit 7 months away – is helping me stick to it.  It’s also made me set smaller, shorter term goals, like a 5K in June and a 10K in late August.

To help me track my progress, I’ve been using a program called Map My Run. I simply created my profile, downloaded the accompanying Android App (also available for iPhone and Blackberry), and started logging my workouts. I really like this program as you can enter your runs, your indoor workouts, and your other exercise options, even downhill skiing! The GPS in your phone can help you track your run and then you can upload it directly to the website. You can look up different events, connect with training buddies, and compete in challenges.  It’s definitely helped me monitor how I’m doing!

So far in 2011, I’m doing well on my New Year’s Resolution! Now I just need to work on my living situation and managing my money!

ANNOUNCEMENT:

The week of April 25, Our View From Here will be holding its first virtual book club!  We will all be reading, and commenting on, the book Water for Elephantsby Sara Gruen.  Read along with us!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

