Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

A Musical Journey

on April 15, 2011

Music has always been a big part of my life. At one point, I seriously considered being a music major with the idea of teaching instrumental music in a secondary school. A number of things happened that caused me to consider another path, but it’s easy to see the mark music has made on my life. If it hadn’t been for music, I wouldn’t have gone into theatre and been so successful, especially when it came to musicals.

However, music also defines different periods in my life.  Certain artists or songs bring me back to particular moments in time. So come with me on my musical journey…

John Denver's Greatest Hits

First stop, at some point before 5 years old:

My mom gave me a little old yellow-green record player and a collection of 45s that I would play non-stop. I could often be found in front of my mirrored closet doors, hairbrush in hand, singing my heart out to Credence Clearwater Revival, Willie Nelson, and my personal favorite, John Denver

Around 5 years old:

My first memory of anything related to pop culture was a big one – Michale Jackson‘s Thriller album was released the year I started Kindergarten. I didn’t really understand what the big deal was, and the dancing zombies both fascinated me a freaked me out…

Around 10:

Fast forward a few years – I don’t seem to have any memory of anything music related until I was in 5th grade. My best friend Jill and I would spend hours listening to the Bangles Everything album, even using it to practice our square dancing to (we were going to camp that spring)…

Junior High:

I was fortunate to grow up in the Pacific Northwest during an incredible time for music. The birth of grunge led to everyone having their own garage band. I had more flannels than I care to admit, and I was truly a grunge chick.  While I was really more of a Pearl Jam girl than Nirvana, Smells Like Teen Spirit was the original anthem for this whole genre:

High School:

From grunge to angry chick rock, Alanis Morrisette hit big my senior year. I missed her concert, but I remember buying the album and listening to it over and over…

College:

Besides the fight song and alma mater that I still know almost all of the words to, college was defined by music.  I’ll spare you the Musical Theatre, but one of the artists that unfortunately defined my early college experience was none other than the British Pop Import Spice Girls. I blame my first roommate for this one (yes you, Mike!)

Okay, college gets two videos.  Late college was more defined by modern rock. I especially remember a particular 4th of July, walking home from the fireworks in the pouring rain, drenched to the bone, singing this one with my friends. I have no idea why…

Grad School/Early Professional:

I moved to NYC for grad school, and while there is a plethora of New York songs, that’s not what I think of when I think of my time there. During this time, my friends and I gathered annually to catch up. This song featured prominently in at least one of those reunions…

Thus ends our musical journey through my life.  Now I’m back in the PNW and I don’t know what song I could use to define the last couple years. I think I need some distance to figure that out. Also, this list skips some major players – notably Barenaked Ladies and Pearl Jam – but I think it gives a good overall view of my musical evolution.

The week of April 25, Our View From Here will be holding its first virtual book club!  We will all be reading, and commenting on, the book Water for Elephantsby Sara Gruen.  Read along with us!
Leave a Reply

