Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

Let’s all go to the Lobby!

on May 5, 2011

That song is probably going to be in your head for the rest of the day. Sorry about that, but it was a good lead in for my topic: movies. Let me preface this post by saying I am not a “movie person.” If you were to begin a question with, “Did you ever see that movie where….” chances are my answer would be no. Most of my friends have come to accept the blank stare I give them when they start referencing specific actors. Yes, Ladies and Gentlemen, I am, more or less, pop-culture stupid. But, for the first time in a good many years, I am excited by this summer’s movie season.

First up is the new “Pirates of the Caribbean” movie. I am somewhat wary of this one since it seems not all of my favorite characters from earlier in the series will be making an appearance, but the Pirates movies are always fun. Really, I think any movie with over-the-top sword fighting is fun.

Next up is the third Transformers movie. Before the first Transformers movie came out a few years ago, I knew very little about the Transformers. Although a child of the 80s, I was a girly-girl and absorbed with My Little Pony, She-Ra and Jem. I was tangentially aware of Transformers but couldn’t tell you much more than cars turned into robots. I was introduced to Transformers when I accompanied my husband to the first movie. I loved it. Afterward, I was looking for a Transformer decal to put on the steering wheel of my car. The second movie was a bit disappointing, but the third looks a bit promising…or completely ridiculous. I’m not sure:

Last is the movie that needs no introduction: The final installment of Harry Potter. I was nervous after the 6th movie but the first half of Deathly Hallows set a pretty good stage. I’m way excited by this one:

I think it’s going to be an exciting summer for movies. I’ve got my movies ticket gift cards ready go. All I have to do is wait a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

