Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

Things Take Time

on May 17, 2011

I’ve had a rough couple of weeks. Mostly from working too many long hours at my new job. I haven’t been able to get to the gym because I just leave work too late. This makes me feel out of shape and blob like. It also makes my back very angry. I haven’t been eating well because the microwave dinner is much quicker than throwing a salad together. That and dinner time is usually whatever snacks I can scrounge up in the office. I’m staying up too late because I get home too late and want to decompress before bed. Unfortunately I don’t feel decompressed until near 1 am. This makes me more tired the next day and things take longer making my day longer. Its a vicious cycle that finally started getting in to my head last week.

All the anxiety and fear about my big leap started creeping in. I picked the wrong job. I shouldn’t have moved. I miss the comfort of knowing the area around me and having friends in various towns with in a 1 hour drive. I became really bad Monday and I started wondering how long should I wait it out before I throw in the towel and go back home. I talked to some close friends that have taken a big leap to a new state and a new town. I was assured there is an adjustment curve involved and it is most assuredly longer than 3 months. To keep with it and give it a chance. It’s always tough in the beginning. All things I told myself on various nights when I was feeling blue or tired or homesick.

To put it simply my flight response was coming out in full force and the strangest thing happened Monday night. I was watching the season finale of “How I Met Your Mother” One of the main characters was having a mild breakdown contemplating getting back together with an ex and their friends talked some reason in to him by saying this.

“The future is scary but you can’t just run back to the past because it’s familiar. Yes it’s tempting..but it’s a mistake.”

Thank You TV sitcom. I needed to hear that.

Leave a Reply

