Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

The Three-Day-Weekend Hangover

on May 31, 2011

Multiple things happen to me when coming off a 3-day weekend. First, I don’t know what day it is. Which is why I neglected to realize I was supposed to write a post until after I went to bed last night.  I usually don’t want to go back to work. Especially after Memorial Day weekend. Spring is always an insane marathon to just work my patootey off until I get to my 3-day weekend break memorial day weekend. This always leads to the inevitable realization that 3-days isn’t enough of a break. I realize what I’ve know pretty much since the end of April every year. I need a vacation. Especially this year with moving lumped in with Spring craziness.

This year I was able to spend the holiday weekend with some of my best friends. Making it even harder to come off the weekend. Three days just wasn’t enough. Last night and even this morning all I could think was that I wasn’t ready to go back to work.

My morning routine is slightly altered after a great 3-day weekend. Instead of thinking “Just 5 more minutes” my brain thinks “Just 5 more days” then I’ll be totally refreshed.  After the first day back the hangover wears off a little bit. I made it through the day. Each day after that is a little easier. And the best part about a 3 day weekend when Monday is the day off. It’s only a 4 day work week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

