Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

Feelin’ Hot Hot Hot

on June 28, 2011

It’s not a crazy heat wave by any stretch of the imagine. It’s normal Summer hot right now. Temperatures in the low 80s with a bit of humidity and I greatly dislike it. I’ve talked to many people and had the debate. Which is worse? Really cold or really hot? Neither in extremes is good. Both can kill you if you’re not properly prepared. But if we’re talking the Normal cold of Winter vs the normal heat and humidity of Summer. I’ll take the cold. Don’t get me wrong I do prefer the season of Summer to Winter. But at least with the cold of winter you can continue to layer where in the Summer you can only take off so much. Some more than others.

My insistence on wearing pants for most of the Summer really doesn’t help my plight, I know this, but my job requires me to walk through fields with high grass (aka tick emporiums) and wade through shrubs that like to grab at your legs and scratch at you. Since I like being a tick free me and don’t want my legs all scratched up, pants it is. The unfortunate thing is the combination of the heat and necessary work wear (I didn’t mention my toasty boots) makes me A. Feel really gross by 11am and B. Completely saps any energy I may have by 3pm (this is really bad since I’m supposed to “work” until 4:30pm).

I might have done little to no physical work all day (like today when I really just walked houses) and I feel like I ran a marathon. I leave work knowing I need to workout, clean, make dinner, fold laundry, write a blog post…but I simply long for my couch and pjs. I do not enjoy turning in to this Summer Slouch but it just seems to happen every year. In a few weeks I’ll adapt to the temperatures a little more. Hopefully by mid-July I can be back to my normal state of being able to get something accomplished after I leave the office.

Leave a Reply

