Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

Unexpected Fireworks Spectacular

on July 5, 2011

I don’t remember what year it was. I don’t even remember if I was driving. Heck it might not have even been on Independence Day but it was a great memory and one of my favorite things about the Fourth of July. I was on my way back from somewhere…NJ possibly?  I feel like I might’ve been with my family. Anyway, we were going down the highway we suddenly discovered we had the optimum view for a local fireworks display. We pulled over and decided to take in the whole show. We weren’t the only ones. The show lasted for a few minutes and ended with a great finale. After the show we got back on the highway and continued home.

Ideally I love to be able to hang out with a bunch of friends and settle in for a great fireworks show. There was the great summer where I stayed up at school and walked with a group of friends to see the local fireworks. One of the best 4th of July displays I’ve ever seen to this day. The walk to and from the fireworks with a bunch of friends made the evening all the more enjoyable.

Sometimes you can’t make it to the fireworks show. You have to get home because of work the next day or some other reason. On those occasions, I love if I’m on the road and come around the bend on a highway to see a great display of fireworks right in front of me. Last night was a great example. I’m not sure of the fireworks laws in Connecticut but I’m thinking they aren’t too strict. Every couple miles down the highway there were more fireworks to see. Granted at highway speeds the distraction isn’t always good but it does put a smile on my face that I get to see some fireworks. And hey, if I have the time and the view is particularly good, I’ll pull over and take in the show.

Leave a Reply

