Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

I scream, you scream…

on July 14, 2011
….we all scream for ice cream!

It’s the middle of July and a good chunk of the country is in the grip of a heat wave. It seemed like a good opportunity to talk about one of my favorite things: Ice Cream.

When thinking through this blog post, I realized I can divide my life into various ice cream moments, which amused me. My first ice cream moment of any significance occurred sometime in elementary school. My parents decided to reward my sister and me with Dairy Queen ice cream for our good report cards. It became a quasi-regular tradition (can a tradition be quasi-regular??). I don’t think I received all of the ice cream I was due, but it was always a nice treat to get an ice cream for my scholarly efforts. I know some parents reward their kids with cash for good report cards, which always seemed a little weird to me. But ice cream seemed like a nice, reasonable treat for a job well-done.

My next ice cream remembrance predominately involved my grandmother. One of the towns I grew up in as a kid, Snohomish, is infamous for its antique stores. My grandmother liked to frequent these stores from time to time and since she watched my sister and me during the day while my parents were at work, invariably we had to tag along. An antique store is pretty boring for a little kid, but sometimes after we were done she would take us to the ice cream shop in town. I loved this shop. I don’t remember the name but it was a local shop that looked like it had been around since the turn of the century. My favorite part of it was that they sold blackberry ice cream, one of my all-time favorites. Somehow being dragged through the antique shops didn’t seem to be that calamitous if I was going to be given ice cream at the end.

Creamery Facebook page

My move to the East Coast brought new ice cream experiences. The State College community was fortunate enough to be blessed with two excellent ice cream institutions, Meyer’s Dairy, on the outskirts of town, and the Penn State Creamery, located in the heart of the Penn State campus. Meyer Dairy was an old, family-owned farm that also had a restaurant and dairy products for sale. Their ice cream was phenomenal, and conveniently placed just up the road from a playhouse where I did a lot of summer theatre.

The summer between high school graduation and into the spring semester of my freshman year at Penn State, I worked at the University Creamery. I blame my employment here for the bulk of my “Freshman 15.” We were allowed free ice cream on breaks….’nuff said. The Penn State Creamery has amazing ice cream. In fact, Ben & Jerry took one of the Creamery’s Ice Cream Short Courses to learn how to make ice cream, and look at them now. Even when I no longer worked at the Creamery, I still made several trips a semester to partake of their frozen delights, and pretty much every trip back since graduation has included a stop-over.
 

After graduation, when I moved to Jersey City, there happened to be another excellent, local ice cream shop around the corner from my sister’s apartment. This was about the only place on the East Coast where I’ve ever seen blackberry ice cream. In addition to the standard flavors, they also had some really creative flavors that I never had the guts to try. I don’t remember the specifics, but they were flavors like okra and sweet potato or somesuch. Call me boring, but I just like the old favorites.

Finally, in my current abode I have found What the Scoop (or Scoops as I call it) in Metuchen, NJ. This is another local shop with a million different ice cream flavors. They also make pizza, which can make a convenient dinner-dessert combo. More and more as people come into town to visit, I find us wandering over to Scoops. Oh darn.

Ice cream has also reassured me that I will likely never be an alcoholic. On a bad day, given the choice between wine and alcohol, I almost always go for the ice cream. So, I may be obese, but not an alcoholic.

 Ah Ice Cream, how I love you so. This post is making me hungry. Fortunately, I just happen to have some ice cream in the freezer….bye!!!

One response to “I scream, you scream…

  1. Samantha says:

    I find it funny that I decided to read your post while I’m sitting in the Penn State Creamery enjoying a dish of Death by Chocolate!

Leave a Reply

