Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

Revisiting Resolutions

on August 5, 2011

It’s my turn to evaluate how I’ve done on my resolutions so far this year. Technically we should have done this a month ago – closer to an actual halfway point – but alas, here we are.

I had three goals for this year:

Goal #1:  Move out to my own place

So, this hasn’t happened yet, but it should within the next two months. Due to some unexpected medical bills (nothing serious, don’t worry!), I ended up using my security and pet deposits to pay those off. It turned out to be to my advantage that I stayed where I am to get this stuff taken care of, so I don’t count this as a failure. I am in the process right now of looking for an appropriate place and hope to move out around the beginning of September or October, depending on what I can find.

Goal #2: Expand my social circle

I suppose this is a minor success. Since I started a new job last September, I’ve met a lot of new people. However, it wasn’t until January or so that I actually started to get to know any of them. I volunteered to chaperone a weekly ski trip and met several of them that way. I also became a part of a couple of committees that has broadened my social horizons. The major hurdle, however, continues to be the distance that I live from the city. Twenty miles doesn’t seem like that far, but when you have to drive all the way home to let your dog out, you don’t feel like driving back that twenty miles that evening to go out with friends. Moving closer will help. I’ve also recently joined a running group and hopefully will make some new friends there.

Goal #3:  Improve my health

This has been a great success at this point. There are two main parts to this goal – weight and fitness. I joined Weight Watchers in January and stuck to the plan with fidelity for at least four months. I got really good at making various soups for lunches which I loved. The crock pot became a very good friend.  Prior to my recent trip east, I had lost 19 pounds. I’m not quite to my goal, but summer is difficult for me to stick with any real diet because I get bored and there is food around. So, I’m not expecting any great gains during the summer – I’m happy to hold steady. Come September, though, we’re back to game on.

The second part – fitness – has also been a big success. I started a Couch to 5K running program back in March. At first, I was only able to run for about two minutes and walk for two minutes. Before long, I was able to run for thirty minutes straight. I was up to 4 miles when I first got to New Jersey in early July. However, due to the unbearably warm temps in the east, the lack of time while traveling, and lack of place to run, I slipped back a little bit, but I’m building back up again. I have signed up for the Seattle Half Marathon in November and I will continue to work with my running group when school gets back in session. So, I’d say it’s a success, but still room to keep going!

I think I’ve done a pretty good job so far this year. We’ve got five months left to complete them, so maybe we’ll do a recap in December before making our new goals!

Leave a Reply

