Our View From Here

Perspectives of Five Women

Settling In

on October 6, 2011

I apologize, faithful blog readers, this post will be short. I started my new job last week and it’s gone fairly well so far. I have an office with 4 walls of my very own! I am a bit embarrassed by how excited this makes me. And I’m a bit ashamed to think of how much time I’ve spent thinking about how to decorate said office. Upon my arrival on my first day, a lovely bouquet of flowers and a sign welcoming me to the office was on my desk. My coworkers took me out to lunch. At my last job, I usually ate at my desk and didn’t venture out much. It was such a novelty to go out for a full hour…with co-workers even!

Over the past week and a half, I’ve been settling in, trying to absorb as much as I can. I started at a very busy time so the first few days no one was able to devote too much time to training me. I spent a lot of time reading everything I could on the common network. Getting my benefits and ID card proved to be a giant hassle but I think (and hope!) all that is finally resolved.

I’m a bit out of sorts this week. We are running a program, which has meant I’ve taken either the 5:10 or 6:30 am train every morning this week, which means I’m usually up an hour or so before that. I’m also getting home a bit later. It’s dark when I leave in the morning and dark when I get back home. I’m getting run down and cranky and frustrated that I still don’t know enough to really do much yet. I’m sure in a few weeks time, I’ll be looking back enviously at all the downtime I have right now, but I’m ready to get going and I’m getting frustrated that all I seem able to do is boring admin work. I know that will all change soon. I think I’m just going to chalk up this crankiness to needing a nap.


Leave a comment